Parlor vs Folium
Folium supports 3DS, DS, GB, GBC and GBA, plus home consoles such as NES, SNES and PlayStation.
| Feature | Parlor | Folium |
|---|---|---|
| Native Apple TV app | Not released1See note 1 | Not listed2See note 2 |
| Native Mac app | Not released3See note 3 | Not listed4See note 4 |
| Saves and states in your own iCloud | 5See note 5 | Not listed6See note 6 |
| One purchase, no subscription, no account | 7See note 7 | $2.99 + IAP8See note 8 |
| Controller pairing guide | 9See note 9 | Not listed10See note 10 |
| AirPlay full screen, phone as the pad | 11See note 11 | Not listed12See note 12 |
| No BIOS files to find | GB, GBC, GBA, DS13See note 13 | See requirements14See note 14 |
| Homebrew games included | 15See note 15 | 16See note 16 |
| Link play on one device | Not verified17See note 17 | Not verified18See note 18 |
| Open source | 19See note 19 | 20See note 20 |
| Systems beyond these handhelds | 21See note 21 | More systems22See note 22 |
| 3DS | iPhone and iPad23See note 23 | 24See note 24 |
- The native Apple TV version is not yet released. Use AirPlay or HDMI from iPhone or iPad now. Source.
- The listing covers iPhone and iPad. Source.
- The iPad app runs on Apple silicon Macs. Apple labels it not verified for macOS. The native version is not released. Source.
- The listing has no Mac version. Source.
- Battery saves, save states and library metadata use private iCloud. Game files do not sync. Source.
- Cloud save sync is not stated in the listing. Source.
- One purchase covers iPhone and iPad, Family Sharing included. No in-app purchases, no ads, no Parlor account. The Apple TV version is not yet released. Source.
- The US listing also sells Extra Features for $1.99. Source.
- The guide covers pairing, default mappings and remapping. Source.
- The listing names supported controllers but does not provide pairing instructions. Source.
- AirPlay or HDMI can provide the display while the iPhone provides controls. Source.
- The listing does not describe this specific workflow. Source.
- These systems need no BIOS files. Some 3DS files need keys from your own console. Source.
- The listing asks users to provide games and system files. Source.
- Free homebrew games are included. The catalog identifies included games and their licences. Source.
- The listing states that no games are provided. Source.
- The released listing does not describe same-device link play. Check current app support before relying on it. Source.
- Version history documents DS online play and 3DS rooms, not same-device link play. Source.
- GPL-3.0. Every core and component is named on the licences page with its own terms. Source.
- The checked repository publishes a GPL-3.0 licence. Source.
- Parlor covers GB, GBC, GBA, DS and 3DS on iPhone and iPad. Source.
- The listing also includes home consoles such as NES, SNES and PlayStation. Source.
- Some game files need your console keys. Import 3DS files outside archives. Source.
- The listing includes 3DS. Source.
Parlor availability
Parlor is available on iPhone and iPad. Its iPad app also runs on Apple silicon Macs, with Apple marking it not verified for macOS. Native Mac and Apple TV versions are not yet released. 3DS support is limited to iPhone and iPad.
Use AirPlay or HDMI for television play now. See the platform requirements.
Saves and setup
The US listing charges $2.99 and also offers Extra Features for $1.99. It covers iPhone and iPad. Cloud save sync is not stated in the checked listing.
Which app fits your requirements?
Folium lists supported controllers and documents updates in its version history. Parlor provides a controller setup guide and syncs saves through iCloud.
Parlor includes free homebrew games. Check controller setup and save sync before purchase.
Sources
Checked 3 October 2026 against the sources below. Prices refer to the US store and can change. “Not listed” means the checked source does not confirm a feature. It does not prove that the feature is absent.